12th Music in Nineteenth-Century Britain Conference 2019

Conference bookings are now open: visit www.canterbury.ac.uk/mncb2019 to register.



Submissions for presentations are now closed.


The twelfth Music in Nineteenth-Century Britain conference will take place at Canterbury Christ Church University from 3 to 5 July 2019. The Programme Committee invites proposals for presentations as follows:

  • Individual papers up to 20 minutes and lecture recitals up to 45 minutes in length (with additional time for questions and discussion).
  • Group presentations (e.g. round tables) up to two hours in length (depending on the number of participants).

Papers and presentations may focus on any aspect relevant to the conference’s over-arching remit, i.e. to present research into musical texts, performers and performances, and culture, and the social and economic uses of music in Britain, in the long nineteenth century (approximately 1789 to 1914). We particularly welcome proposals that focus on the first of these areas. We also invite proposals for papers and presentations that examine the influence and impact outside the then United Kingdom of musical texts, performers and cultures originating in the British Isles.

Please send proposals to the Programme Committee Chair, Dr Christopher Price (chris.price@canterbury.ac.uk) in the following format:

  • Individual Papers: abstract up to 300 words and autobiography up to 100 words.
  • Lecture recitals: abstract up to 300 words, autobiography up to 100 words, and sample recording (e.g. via YouTube link)
  • Group Presentation: overall rationale up to 450 words, individual abstracts up to 300 words each, and individual autobiographies up to 100 words each.

Please include a note of any specialist technical needs; a piano, and audio visual equipment for PowerPoint, sound and video recordings, will be provided as standard.

The deadline for submissions is Monday 17 December 2018. A draft conference programme will be published in mid-January 2019.


Conference Committee:

Professor Rachel Cowgill

Rachel Johnson

Dr George Kennaway

Dr Christopher Price (Chair)

Dr Paul Rodmell